

The Ladies?
Auxiliary of the
Ohio Sons of the
American Revolution

Our History

The Ohio Ladies' Auxiliary of the Ohio Sons of the American Revolution is patterned after the original chapter in California. In 1989, Mr. Jay W. Collins as President of the Ohio SAR, attended the SAR National Congress in California. After being introduced to some of the ladies, he was so impressed that he decided to establish a similar organization for the Ohio ladies. At a State meeting in October, 1989, he invited the women who were in attendance, as well as their husbands, to a meeting at which he presented the idea and some material from the California Chapter. After some discussion, it was decided by those present, to draw up some Bylaws and have them ready for the April, 1990 State meeting.

There were twelve charter members at that October 6, 1989 meeting. The officers that first year were, **Ileene Collins (Mrs. Jay W. Collins)** as President, **Margaretta Branthoover (Mrs. Wilbur Branthoover)** as Treasurer and **Lois Whetstone (Mrs. Martin Whetstone)** as Secretary.

The other Charter members were:

Mrs. Glenn Douglass (Dale A. Douglass)

Polly Smith (Mrs. Edwin M. Smith)

Phyllis Reedy (Mrs. Mitchell A. Reedy)

Elaine McIntyre (Mrs. Joseph McIntyre)

Jane Haviland (Mrs. Richard J. Haviland)

Nancy Carson (Mrs. Nolan Carson)

Alma Leavitt (Mrs. Luther C. Leavitt)

Mickey Horner (Mrs. John A. Horner, Jr.)

Dorothy Sells (Mrs. Bert E. Sells)

The Bylaws were approved at the April 28, 1990 meeting with 16 in attendance. The Ladies' Auxiliary meets at the Annual Meeting of the Ohio SAR and where officers are elected each year.